Ultimate Defence 22

Now for an example of how the Rule of 11 can be used against a suit contract and why I do not
recommend underleading aces (except in No Trumps of course). It also shows how a smart alec
declarer managed to shoot himself in the foot by not giving the defenders credit for having the
intelligence to know the rule.

Dealer South All Vul

Q7

vy AK86

¢+ Q103

#KI1075
4 A654 432
vQlJ v 10932
¢J9765 ¢ K842
* A2 #9043

& KJ10938

v754

¢ A

#QJ86
The possible bidding:
w N E S

1S

2D DBL 3D NB
NB DBL NB 4C
NB 4S NB NB
NB

The bidding is worth taking a look at. West has made a frisky overcall, but not vulnerable it's worth a
bid. North's double is TAKEOUT and pretty well guarantees four or more HEARTS. East has very little
but can raise to 3D with good trump support, and this suggests a possible sacrifice if West is interested.
South has nothing more to say and North's double of 3D is once more for takeout. South bids 4C (NO,
NOT asking for aces!!!) and North signs off in 4S. And before you say “but why are NS not in 3NT, the
answer is that 3NT doesn't make and 4S is stone cold... unless declarer shoots himself in the foot as
earlier mentioned. So, what happened?



Let's have another look at the full deal:

Q7

vyA K86

¢+ Q103

& KI0O75
o A654 632
vQJ v 10932
¢J9765 ¢ K842
& A2 & 043

& KJ1098

v754

¢ A

*QJ86

West, with four trumps, decided to attack by leading diamonds, rather than the less attractive queen of
hearts. After all, East had shown diamond support. Our smart alec declarer tried to play a bit of
psychological warfare and called for the TEN from dummy. But East had not only heard West overcall,
which should have been a five card suit, East also knew that West would NOT underlead the ace, and
therefore knew, even without the mathematics of the Rule of 11, that South had a singleton ace.
Therefore, East calmly followed with the eight.

When declarer played on trumps, West ducked twice and won the third one with the ace, and continued
with the jack of diamonds, covered by the queen and East's carefully preserved king. Declarer had to
ruff. When declarer played on clubs, West won the ace and led another diamond, this time forcing
declarer to ruff with his last trump while West still had a trump to ruff in with and cash two winning
diamonds!

Do you see how easy it would have been for declarer had he not tried to be too clever? The three would
have been played from dummy and East would no doubt have played low also, but NEXT time West
led a diamond, declarer would have put in the ten and ruffed out East's king, ensuring a trick for
dummy's queen, plus the important other thing, CONTROL. This is not about declarer play, but one of
the important things you need to keep in mind as declarer is to be in control. But, as a defender, make
use of all the information you have and heed the plan that partner appears to be working to as opening
leader.
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